District 3

Cassandra Hernandez

Current Term: 2nd | Term Ends: December 2024

Welcome to the District 3 website! Thank you for electing me to be your Representative and I look forward to working with you to improve District 3. Please do not hesitate to reach out to our office if I can ever be of assistance.

Newsletter Sign Up

Share any questions or comments regarding District 3:

City Representative Cassandra Hernandez
City of El Paso
300 N. Campbell
El Paso, Texas 79901
[email protected]

View Campaign Finance Reports See Districts Map



Cassandra was first sworn-in as the City Council Representative for District 3 on June 27, 2017. She was re-elected for a second term on November 3, 2020 and is serving another four-year term that ends on January 5, 2025. She represents parts of Eastside and Lower Valley and the Airport.

She serves on two crucial Mayor-appointed boards: The Transportation Policy Board for the Metropolitan Planning Organization and the Financial Oversight and Audit Committee.

Career Experience

Cassandra’s past work experience includes being the Deputy Director at Dynamic Workforce Solutions for the non-profit Workforce Solutions Borderplex, and a Director of Policy and Programs for Education and Workforce Development at the Greater El Paso Chamber of Commerce.


She obtained her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from the University of Texas at El Paso in 2010 and she later obtained her Master of Public Administration with a concentration in Public Policy and Management in 2013, also from UTEP.

Family & Community

Cassandra was born and raised in El Paso Lower Valley. She is a graduate of Bel Air High School and attended the Riverside Vocational program. She is a proud homeowner in the Rosedale Neighborhood, where she resides with her young children and loving family.

Boards & Commissions

Board appointees provide valuable contributions to City ordinances, departments and projects. We are fortunate to have residents eager to serve District 3 and the City through board or commission involvement.

Our District 3 appointees provide a wealth of knowledge and experience to these committees and we thank our appointees for dedicating their volunteered time and input to moving the City of El Paso forward.

As vacancies come up on boards we will consider those on the interest list. If you are interested in serving on a board or commission please send a letter of interest and your resume to [email protected]


Boards & Commission Appointees

Ad Hoc Charter Advisory Committee
Yolanda Giner

Americorps Seniors Advisory Council
Christina Olivares

Animal Shelter Advisory Committee
Sandra Di Francesco

Building & Standards Commission
John Bryan

Capital Improvements Advisory Committee
Manuel Moreno

Citizen's Advisory Committee For The Board Of The Mass Transit
Maria C. Flores

City Accessibility Advisory Committee
Michael Adjemian

City Plan Commission
Marisela Rios

Civil Service Commission 
Leticia Arreola

Committee On Border Relations
Mayra Maldonado

Community Development Steering Committee
Kathleen Lopez

Districting Commission
Isabel Carrillo

El Paso Bond Overview Advisory Committee (Boac)
Danny Perea

Ethics Review Commission
Elena Grasheim

Fair Housing Task Force
Keneth Bell

Fair Housing Task Force
Miguel A. Hernandez

Greater El Paso Civic, Convention & Tourism Advisory Board
Veronica M. Hernandez

Historic Landmark Commission
Paulina Lagos

Museums & Cultural Affairs Advisory Board
Carlos A. Loweree Iii

Museums & Cultural Affairs Advisory Board
Lucio Glenn

Open Space Advisory Board
Norma Rivera

Parks & Recreation Advisory Board
Michael Adjemian

Public Service Board Selection Committee
Susannah M. Byrd

Regional Renewable Energy Advisory Council
Kc Griffin

Retired & Senior Volunteer Program Advisory Council
Christina Olivares

Veterans Affairs Advisory Committee
Rodney Washington

Women's Rights Commission
Elisa Morales

Zoning Board Of Adjustment
Isaac Rodriguez