Parking Info: 915-212-5804
What are the parking citation fines
PARKING VIOLATION FINE SCHEDULE - Effective 01/23/12
EXPIRED METER $ 25.00 BUFFER ZONE $ 25.00 PARK IN MORE THAN 1 METER SPACE $ 25.00 PARK ON BUS OR TAXI STAND $ 25.00 AIRPORT LIMOUSINE ZONE $ 25.00 HOTEL ZONE - PARKING $ 25.00 OTHER OVERTIME $ 25.00 LOAD ZONE-AIRPORT/OVER 3 MIN/UNATTENDED $ 25.00 LOAD ZONE (GENERAL) - OVER 30 MIN $ 25.00 LOADING ZONE (COMM. VEHICLE) - OVER 30 MIN $ 25.00 OVER 18 INCHES FROM CURB $ 25.00 LOADING ZONE/NOT COMMERCIAL VEHICLE $ 25.00 PARK WITHIN 30 FT. OF STOP SIGN $ 25.00 PARKING - FUNERAL ZONE $ 25.00 RESERVED PARKING SPACE $ 25.00 AIRPORT-CONTRARY TO SIGNS OR MARKINGS $ 25.00 AIRPORT-LOADING IN FRONT OF TERMINAL $ 25.00 ALLEY-GENERAL TRAFFIC DIST/FIVE POINTS $ 25.00 AIRPORT-WEST OF TERMINAL W/O AUTHORITY $ 25.00 POLICE/POLICE MOTORCYCLE ZONE $ 25.00 BACK-IN ANGLED PARKING ONLY $ 55.00 DOUBLE PARKING $ 55.00 PARK ON WRONG SIDE OF STREET $ 55.00 RESIDENTIAL PARKING ZONE (NO PERMIT) $ 55.00 NO PARKING ZONE $ 55.00 PARKING ON SIDEWALK $ 55.00 PARKING - EASEMENT $ 55.00 PARKING IN FRONT OF DRIVEWAY $ 55.00 PARK WITHIN 20 FT. OF CROSSWALK $ 55.00 PARK WITHIN 15 FT. OF FIRE HYDRANT $ 55.00 PARKING ON MEDIAN $ 55.00 PARK ON A BRIDGE $ 55.00 IN ALLEYS CONTRARY TO SIGN $ 55.00 CONTRARY TO ANGLE PARKING SIGNS $ 55.00 ALONGSIDE/OPPOSITE STREET EXCAVATION $ 55.00 NEWS MEDIA ZONE $ 55.00 INSPECTION ZONE $ 55.00 COVERED METER $ 55.00 IN VIOLATION OF SIGN/ADJACENT TO SCHOOL $ 55.00 IN VIOLATION OF SIGN/NARROW STREET $ 55.00 IN VIOLATON OF SIGN/ONE-WAY STREET $ 55.00 TEMPORARY NO PARKING ZONE $ 55.00 ADJACENT TO SAFETY ZONE $ 55.00 YELLOW CURB MARKINGS $ 55.00 PARKING IN DESIGNATED BIKE LANES $ 55.00 VIOLATION OF STREET CLEANING/CONSTRUCTION $ 55.00 VIOLATION OF OFFICIAL SIGN PROHIBITING PARKING $ 55.00 PARKING ON CITY PROPERTY $ 100.00 R-O-W WASHING/REPAIRING VEHICLE $ 100.00 FIRE LANE $ 150.00 HAZARDOUS/CONGESTED PLACE $ 150.00 WITHIN INTERSECTION $ 150.00 PARKING PROHIBITED/OVERSIZE $ 225.00 ACCESSIBLE PARKING PERMIT ZONE/NO PERMIT $ 275.00 ACCESSIBLE PARKING PERMIT ZONE/BLOCKED $ 275.00
ALL FINES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE
Delinquency Fees: All fines increase by $10.00 for every 30 days the citation is delinquent, up to a maximum of $60.00 in delinquency fees per violation. The delinquency fees are added on to the amount of the original fines in the listings above.
How do I get a hearing on my parking citation
The person charged with a parking or stopping offense shall have the right to an instant hearing for the purpose of determining the issue of liability for the charged offense. Section 12.85.030 of the Municipal Code requires that such right to a hearing shall be exercised by appearing in person before a hearing officer within fourteen days from the date of the citation, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 5:15 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Hearings may be requested as follows:
El Paso Municipal Court
810 E. Overland
El Paso, Texas 79901
By phone: (915) 212-5804
It is possible that you might get a recording. Please leave a message and the Deputy Court Clerk will return your call. Please include the citation # and the date the citation was issued.
El Paso Municipal Court
810 E. Overland
El Paso, Texas 79901
Please include the original citation, if possible. If not, include the citation # and the date of issuance.
By fax: (915) 212-0216
Please include a copy of the citation if possible. If not, include the citation # and the date of issuance.
I no longer own the vehicle for an outstanding parking citation
The El Paso Municipal Court receives vehicle registration information from the Texas Department of Transportation. At the time the vehicle registration request was submitted from the Court to TxDOT, your name appeared as the last registered owner of the vehicle. If you have received notice regarding a parking citation(s) issued to a vehicle that you no longer own and which you did not own at the time of the issuance of the citation(s), please provide the following (where applicable):
- A copy of the invoice showing the vehicle was traded in, including the license plate number.
- A copy of the invoice showing the vehicle was purchased after the citation was issued, including the license plate number.
- A copy of the record from the Texas Department of Transportation showing that ownership has been transferred and the date thereof; or
- A copy of the Vehicle Transfer Notification Form after it has been processed by the Texas Department of Transportation. The form is available at the Texas Department of Transportation and the office of the local County Tax Assessor-Collector. It also is available on line through the TxDOT web site as Form TR346 in the Vehicle Registration category.
I received a parking citation while I was serving as a juror in a court proceeding
Please submit your citation either in person or by mail and the confirmation of juror service received from the Court. The hearing officer will review the documents. If all is in order, the citation will be dismissed.
What are the procedures at the hearing
The purpose of the hearing is to determine liability or non-liability for the offense charged. The hearing officer will make this determination based upon a preponderance of the evidence presented at the hearing, after giving due weight to all presumptions and prima facie evidence established by law. The hearing will be recorded on audio tape and is to be conducted in a calm, courteous manner, respectful of both the vehicle owner and the hearing officer.
Appear at the date and time of your scheduled hearing.
Bring a copy of the citation issued to you.
Bring all documents you would like the hearing officer to consider, including, but not limited to:
- auto title, transfer of title and registration documents
- placards authorizing parking in spaces reserved for the disabled
After considering the evidence presented, the hearing officer can find the vehicle owner:
- Dismissed/ Not Liable for the Offense:
If you are found not to be liable for the offense, the case against you will be dismissed.
- Liable for the Offense:
If you are found to be liable for the offense, the full fine amount for the citation will be assessed. The hearing officer has no latitude to reduce the fine amount.
What do I do if I receive a citation for parking in a handicap zone
What do I do if I receive a citation for parking in a handicapped zone, but I am a person for whom the State has issued a disability parking placard or I was transporting a person for whom the State has issued a disabled parking placard?
Documents Presented at the Hearing:
If a citation was issued for parking in a zone reserved for the disabled or if a disabled person was being transported at the time the citation was issued, the person to whom the disabled parking placard is issued is required to appear to give testimony. If this person is unable to appear, a sworn affidavit is acceptable in place of testimony, along with the handicapped placard and placard application form.
Persons who are authorized to park in a space reserved for the disabled, but who forget to display their placard, resulting in a citation, have the option of presenting their cases via mail.
The following must be submitted in order for review:
- The citation.
- A sworn affidavit explaining the facts.
- A copy of the placard, placard application form and driver’s license or ID card.
*All submissions are subject to the review of the hearing officer.
Why did a collection agency contact me about some outstanding parking tickets
The City of El Paso has a contract with GC Services for the collection delinquent Municipal Court fines and fees. Please call the Court during regular business hours for questions regarding specific citations or the citations listed against the vehicle plate shown as registered to you.
Why was my vehicle booted or impounded
The law allows the booting or impoundment of vehicles having 3 (three) or more delinquent parking citations.
How can I gain release of my vehicle after it has been booted or impounded
The registered owner of an immobilized or impounded vehicle, or other authorized person may secure release of the vehicle by paying the total amount of the fine, any late fees for each delinquent citation, including any arrest warrants against the owner of the vehicle for Class C misdemeanors, a $ 50.00 boot fee, transportation costs incurred by the city, towing and storage fees. These charges may be paid at any bond office location, checks will not be accepted.
The towing and storage fees are:
Regular Size Vehicle within City Limits:
Tow - $36.91 (Police Department Impound, must have a yellow slip meaning Police Department did an inventory of the car)
Daily Storage Fees - $12.21/ day
Affidavit - $6.00
Tow - Varies by size
Daily Storage Fees - $15.00
The registered owner of an immobilized or impounded vehicle shall have the right to a prompt post-immobilization hearing (“boot hearing”) before the hearing officer. The boot hearing shall be held within 24 hours following the written request therefore, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and City of El Paso holidays, at the Municipal Court, 810 E. Overland, El Paso, Texas 79901. The issue to be determined at the boot hearing is whether the immobilization was authorized by law. The determination of the hearing officer at the boot hearing is final. If the hearing officer finds that the owner of the vehicle is not liable for any of the citations, a release order for the vehicle will be issued.
Citation Search - Pay Online
Court and Traffic Stats
Court Processes FAQ
Defensive Driving FAQ
Fines and Payments
Court Docket List
Red Light Enforcement